Home > Uncategorized > harry connick jr.JOHN EMMS REVIEW.your songs..cd review..hip but hit & miss..

harry connick jr.JOHN EMMS REVIEW.your songs..cd review..hip but hit & miss..

harry connick jr

My wife plays Frank Sinatra every Sunday morning. It’s relaxed and hip music. She also digs Harry Connick Jr. and Michael Buble’..I could probably understand why. However after about 3 or 4 solid listens I as a MUSIC JOURNALIST and my wife as A FAN have mixed feelings for HC’ s new cd. .. For me, it’s one of the best reecorded cd’s I have heard this year. Clean and uncluttered with amazing audio, and  superb musicianship. This cd folows in the mold of  the Rod Stewart/Barry Manilow Great Amercian songbook idea.

As with the other cd’s in this genre sometimes THE ORIGINAL SONGS ARE OFTEN HARD TO BEAT

Having said that Connick’s take on The Beatles And I Love Her,Don McLean’s And I Love You So, and the opening Frank Sinatra inspired All the Way with Tenor sax by Branford Marsalis are superb.  HC ‘s take on Elton John’s Your Song  The Carpenters Close To You, and a few others miss the mark when I compare it to the vibe of the orignal hits

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

