Home > Uncategorized > STONES IN EXILE-DVD-OUT JUNE 22-JOHN EMMS-SNEAK PEAK REVIEW

STONES IN EXILE-DVD-OUT JUNE 22-JOHN EMMS-SNEAK PEAK REVIEW

This DVD has been the missing link in my love affair with the original vinyl recording of The Rolling Stone’s  Exile On Main Street. 

For literally a million other fans, it’s possible it will be a must have piece of  “Stones”  history, 

But for now just for a paragraph or so let’s back up a bit

I bought the original vinyl copy of this album in the summer of 1972 at Sam The Record Man in Toronto. Some of my friends were not sure if  was all that great. 

I disagreed.  I lived this album. Thirty something years later I still find the soul of  this recording to mean something in my life.  Sure I’m older I have a grandson, I have been through many of life’s up and downs, played in lots of blues rock bands and yet still this album lingers.

Vintage seems to be a good description.

The film also has narration from Bill Wyman, Charlie Watts, Mick Taylor, Keith Richards, Mick Jagger and photographer Dominque Tarle as well as Anita Pallenberg and engineer Andy Johns.

In addition you get assorted rock star cameo comments from Jack White, Sheryl Crow film director Martin Scorcese and current Rolling Stone producer/musician Don Was to name a few. 

At 145 minutes it goes in depth to say the least. The only thing better than this would be a full on 2 hour archival concert from the 1972 American Tour.

As Bill Wyman states in an interview segment on this dvd  “No band could touch us at this point in our career.  No one was  even close”

Amen to that.  This dvd will was available June 22/2010

JOHN EMMS ON TWITTER

john emms (@emmsreviews) / Twitter

John Emms is a veteran music journalist and songwriter/musician, Juno Awards Judge, former television and radio host

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 12, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Struck a chord with the blog post, keep on writing.

  1. June 18, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Leave a comment